Grand Prize Safety Award

Grand prize safety award.

The Grand Prize Safety Award (“GPSA”) audit process is a yearly internal audit for all Business Units.  Mullen Group will verify that each BU is working on the appropriate Health, Safety and Environment (“HSE”) initiatives that align with our corporate HSE Guidelines.  The Safety Bear is awarded to the Business Unit that sets the standard in the following 10 areas:

  1. Leadership, Commitment and Accountability
  2. Employee, Contractor Selection, Training Development and Documentation
  3. Risk Management
  4. Facilities and Equipment
  5. Regulatory Compliance
  6. Environment Code of Practice
  7. Emergency Preparedness
  8. Incident Investigation and Reporting Procedures
  9. Assessment, Assurance and Improvement
  10. HSE Performance – HSE Objectives

To be in contention and ultimately awarded the Grand Prize Safety Award requires dedication from the Business Unit Leadership group. “Section 1 of the audit”. This commitment towards continuous safety fundamentals is what ultimately transcends into positive results and displays dedication to constant improvement.

Recognition as a top performer for the GPSA takes a remarkable audit score in “all 10 sections” and a better than average carrier profile.  Achieving our corporate initiatives and  obtaining corporate goals for Total Recordable Injuries of less than 4 and Lost Time Claims of less than 1 – this should enable the Business Unit to be in a WCB discount position.  Gross Claims to Revenue should be better than our corporate goal of less than 1

The top 6 finalists, as announced during the webinar for 2019, have produced exceptional industry leading results and are without question first class organizations… be proud of your accomplishments.

Heavy Crude Hauling L.P.

Jay’s Transportation Group Ltd.

Payne Transportation Ltd.

Cascade Carriers L.P.

Kleysen Group Ltd.

Mullen Oilfield Services L.P.

I am pleased to announce the winner of the 2019 Grand Prize Safety Award. This recognition is truly a group effort.  Participation and buy-in from the entire team is a fundamental requirement for Safety  success.

Congratulations to Terry Simonson, Lynn Knoll, Milton Letkeman, Iver Martinson, Leonard Hack, Cara Natrasony and the Entire Jay’s Team… Without Everyone Pulling together this doesn’t work.

2019 was a banner year for Jay’s Transportation. Their leadership and commitment towards nurturing a world class safety culture has been embedded in every employee and has produced continuous improvement in Jay’s HSEMS. These accolades are well deserved. Focusing on continuous improvement has been a staple in a culture that demands excellence each and every year.

On behalf of the Mullen Group, congratulations Jay’s Transportation on this well-deserved recognition.

Randy Mercer, Mullen Group Ltd.